Uncategorized

Eating right, more eating, with a little get moving on top

So I couldn’t chose just one website to talk about this week, I picked one from our school list and one that I use constantly and recommend to friends all the time.

I picked http://www.eatright.org/Rejected-By-UrlScan/, the American Dietetic Association, but the link seems to be broken so try this one instead; http://www.eatright.org/Public/

This is a website full of nutrition information. Honestly realizing that “the way mom did it” might not always be the best way, or “it’s just quicker to go out” might not be true- especially if you have to triple your gym time to make up for the calorie difference! I like this site because it is easy to follow, has language that is clear/ easy to understand, and relates to most people. For me the children section is super useful- if too much sodium is bad for my big frame what is it doing to a child’s tiny one? BMI calculator, holiday section, special populations (diabetic, high cholesterol etc) this site has a lot packed in.

My second site is similar to the my calorie counter, but I prefer SparkPeople, mostly because there is an app for Iphone, Android, and Windows- and- they are free, work together, have special needs rubrics- pregnancy, diabetic, work outs, recipes. The site allows the user to get “points” for making good choices and has digi-awards like a game which can be motivational, also the database of nutritional information is HUGE! There are also tons of exercise ideas and you can track your workouts. This site is pretty comprehensive with both food in and working out, whether you are trying to lose, gain, maintain, or just get a better lifestyle this free resource is sweet.

http://www.sparkpeople.com/

So I couldn’t chose just one this week, I picked one from our school list and one that I use constantly and recommend to friends all the time.

I picked http://www.eatright.org/Rejected-By-UrlScan/, the American Dietetic Association, but the link seems to be broken so try this one instead; http://www.eatright.org/Public/

This is a website full of nutrition information. Honestly realizing that “the way mom did it” might not always be the best way, or “it’s just quicker to go out” might not be true- especially if you have to triple your gym time to make up for the calorie difference! I like this site because it is easy to follow, has language that is clear/ easy to understand, and relates to most people. For me the children section is super useful- if too much sodium is bad for my big frame what is it doing to a child’s tiny one? BMI calculator, holiday section, special populations (diabetic, high cholesterol etc) this site has a lot packed in.

My second site is similar to the my calorie counter, but I prefer SparkPeople, mostly because there is an app for Iphone, Android, and Windows- and- they are free, work together, have special needs rubrics- pregnancy, diabetic, work outs, recipes. The site allows the user to get “points” for making good choices and has digi-awards like a game which can be motivational, also the database of nutritional information is HUGE! There are also tons of exercise ideas and you can track your workouts. This site is pretty comprehensive with both food in and working out, whether you are trying to lose, gain, maintain, or just get a better lifestyle this free resource is sweet.

http://www.sparkpeople.com/

 

Rachel

Leave a Reply

